ETF Express awards were decided by the votes of ETF Express subscribers, who include investors as well as managers and other industry professionals at firms including fund administrators, custodians, advisers and distributors.

The award selection process follows three steps: 1) an open nominating process; 2) a “Nominating Committee” narrows the nominees to a maximum of five in each category; and 3) a “Selection Committee” of independent ETF experts votes on the winners. In 2016, the Nominating Committee was composed of senior members of’s editorial and analytics departments. In 2018, the Nominating Committee was made up of senior leaders at, Inside ETFs, and FactSet.

Mutual Fund Industry Awards 2018 & 2019: The winners are comprised of the individuals and firms who were nominated via the online submission process and through recommendations from market participants. Judges used the submitted application material, as well as any uploaded supplemental information, to make a determination on the firm, individual or product they believed to be the most suitable and deserving winners for each category. ETFs launched by Jan 1 of the year preceding the award date were eligible for entry.